Media Reviews & Articles on our Sea Kayaking Tours

 

Our sea kayaking tours have won fantastic reviews in several national media and international articles. A small sampling of media reviews on television, in books, and published articles that have featured Sea Quest Kayak Expeditions are shown below. Click the links to read them!

Television Programs on our San Juan Islands Kayak Tours

Watch a new kayaking video made for National Geographic TV that features Sea Quest Kayak Tours and kayaking with killer whales in the San Juan Island Orca Sanctuary.

"ABC News" - a feature video piece on sea kayaking with orca whales in the San Juan Islands of Washington with on camera interviews of our two principal directors.

"Cry of  the Orcas" - a documentary originally aired on KOMO-TV in the Greater Seattle / Puget Sound region and now in syndication for telecast throughout the country, it focuses on the conservation problems facing the continued survival of our local killer whales in the San Juan Islands of Washington. Both our Expedition Director, Martine Springer, and Sea Quest were featured.

"Front Runners" - also produced and distributed into syndication by KOMO-TV. The program featured our two principal directors and documented a "day in the life" of a Sea Quest kayak guide in the San Juan Islands.

Magazine Articles on Sea Quest Kayak Tours

National Geographic's Traveler selects the San Juan Islands as one of the 10 Best Trips in the World for Summer 2011 and picks Sea Quest as the best San Juan Islands kayaking tour company.

Men's Journal - July/August 2009  Sea Quest is their recommended outfitter for sea kayak tours with orca whales at Lime Kiln "Whale Watch" Park on San Juan Island (download article here).

AirTran Magazine - April 2008 Our orca whale kayaking tours in the San Juan Islands are chosen as a Top 20 Family Adventure suitable for children and families.

Men's Journal - May 2005  Sea kayaking trips with killer whales in the San Juan Islands are rated in the Top 100 Adventures in North America!

Horizons Magazine - May 2005  Sea kayaking with Dall's porpoise in the San Juan Islands. Sea Quest Kayak Expeditions was chosen as their featured kayak tour company due to our in-depth knowledge of the marine mammals in this region.

Travel and Leisure - March 2003  Sea Quest Kayak Expeditions is featured as one of Ten Fantastic Vacations for those with a budget under $1,500.

American Careers - 2002/03  Our Expedition Director, Martine Springer, is highlighted in an article called "Out to Sea" on page 30. The story describes what it is like to be a sea kayak guide and the magazine is aimed to help young people plan their careers in today's world.

Sunset Magazine - August 2002  Sea Quest's kayaking trips are favorably discussed in "Escape to the San Juan Islands" on page 82.

Family Travel - March 1998 Rated #1 Family Adventure in North America!

Fitness - November 1997

Shape - February 1997

Paddler - December 1996 The San Juan Islands & Sea Quest Kayaking make the list for "North America's Top Whale Watching Paddles".

American Way - May 1994

Men's Journal - August 1994 by Bruce Barcott, depicts a sea kayak tour in the San Juan Islands led by our Expedition Director Martine Springer.

Outside - January 1993 by Tim Cahill, colorfully illustrates Martine Springer's prowess as tour guide while sea kayaking in Baja Mexico's Sea of Cortez.

Family Life

Discusses the benefits of family kayaking vacations with children in the San Juan Islands of Washington state.

Harper's Bazaar

Pacific Northwest

Self Magazine

Women's Sports & Fitness

Newspaper Articles on Sea Quest Kayaking Adventures

USA Today - November 21, 2011 - 10 Great Places for a North American Safari: Kayaking with Killer Whales in the San Juan Islands

The Guardian / Observer - June 28, 2008 - The Top 20 American Adventures: Kayaking Trips with Orca Whales in the San Juan Islands

USA Today - April 18, 2007 - World's Top 10 Adventure Bargains: Kayaking Among Orcas in Washington's San Juan Islands

USA Today - March 16, 2004 - Places to Spend a Week or Two with Whale: Kayak Whale Watching from Friday Harbor, Washington

The Oregonian - July 14, 1994 - Northwest Outdoors

The Columbian - July 31, 1994 - Life Travel

Books that Recommend Sea Quest Kayaking Trips

Inside-Out Washington: the Best Places Guide to the Outdoors

Best Places: Guide to the Gulf Islands and San Juan Islands

Fodor's Travel Guides (several editions)

Going Places: A guide to study and travel

Hidden Pacific Northwest

Inside-Out Washington: the Best Places Guide to the Outdoors - Ron Judd

Learning Adventures Around the World - Peter Greenberg

Lonely Planet Guides (several editions)

Moon Travel Guides (several editions)

Paddle America

San Juan Island Pocket Guide

Smart Vacations

Ultimate Adventure Sourcebook

Vacations and Bargain Adventures in the USA - Evelyn Kaye

Volunteer Vacations

Washington Wildlife Guide

Washington State Field Guide

Whale Watcher's GuideBook

Where the Whales Are - Patricia Corrigan

Sea Kayaking Tour Media Reviews & Articles: Sea Quest Kayak Trips